Our governance

We are governed by the Strategic Coherence for ODA-funded Research (SCOR) Board. The SCOR Board is chaired by an independent member, Professor Peter Piot, and brings together the Chief Scientific Advisers and Directors of our core members.

Strategic Coherence of ODA-funded Research (SCOR) Board

The funding bodies involved are:


The individuals on our SCOR Board are:

  • Prof Peter Piot (Chair) – Director, LSHTM (independent)
  • Prof Charlotte Watts – Chief Scientific Adviser, DFID
  • Prof Chris Whitty – Chief Scientific Adviser, DHSC
  • Harriet Wallace – Director, International Science and Innovation, BEIS
  • Prof Andrew Thomson – Executive Chair, AHRC (UKRI representative)
  • Prof Fiona Watt – Executive Chair, MRC (UKRI representative)
  • Prof Jeremy Farrar – Director, Wellcome
  • Prof Melissa Leach – Director, Institute of Development Studies (independent)
  • Prof Jo Beall – Professorial Research Fellow, LSE Cities, LSE (independent)


The SCOR Board  convenes on a quarterly basis. The secretariat is provided by UKCDR’s team. 

SCOR Board Updates 

Follow the links below for summaries of discussions at recent SCOR Board meetings:

UKCDR Stakeholder Group

A stakeholder group comprising expertise from our wider members ensures we have a diversity of opinions and views from across the international development research sector.